

FACULTY MEETING

Agenda

January 16, 2019 3:30pm – 5:00 pm Wilson Library - Pleasants Family Room

- 1. Welcome
- Introduction of our new colleague: Prof. Serenella Iovino and Teaching Assistant Professor Elizabeth Tolman
- 3. Presentation: Jay Smith, Professor of History and Vice President of our chapter of the American Association of University Professors
- 4. Updates:
 - a. Silent Sam, outreach by administration, responses by grad students.
 - b. IAH director search: presentations by Dr. Anjali Prabhu, French, Wellesley College, at the IAH on Monday, February 4, and in our department on Tuesday, February 5.
- 5. Announcements

Minutes of ROMS Faculty Meeting, January 16, 2019

Introduction by Hassan Melehy, Chair

- Introduction/welcome of new faculty members

Professor Jay Smith, representative of the AAUP Chapter

- AAUP during the last eight years the chapter went dormant
- Academic Freedom Day Event relaunching the AAUP chapter
- Now we have an active chapter
- First official meeting this Friday at noon (Toy Lounge)
- Become a due paying member of the AAUP!
- 2 pillars: defense of shared governance and defense of academic freedom
- Both are at risk at UNC according to Jay Smith
- Academic freedom and Departmental independence
- The Journal of Academic Freedom

Chair – updates on Silent Sam issues

- Resignation of Chancellor Folt problems it poses
- Etc.

Parker Brookie, PhD student (Spanish)

Representative of ROMS graduate students, discussion of current situation

Chair

- Institute of the Arts and Humanities Introduction of potential candidate, Chair will send details because if hired she would be housed at our Department -send comments to Oswaldo Estrada
- No news yet about possible positions next year

Logan will be on Medical Leave for two weeks

ROMS Attendance

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

ing Assistant Professor	Assistant Professor
Alexander, Martha	Escolar, Marisa
Avilés de Leon, Lorna	Fritz-Morkin, Maggie
Cabrera Castro, Tamara	Graham, Lamar
Fuentes Lima, Patricia	Sa Carvalho Pereira, Carolina
Huer, Kyung	Tanner, Jessica
Hølesa, Pedro	Associate Professor
Kim, Sangsuk	Del Valle Escalante, Emilio
Knorr, Heather	Eştigarribia, Bruno
Kohl, Anastacia	Gómez-Castellano, Irene
Lomas-Lozano, Beatriz	González-Espitia, Juan Carlos
Martin, Victoria	E, Hsu, Carmen
Redick, Alan	Ŗivero, Alicia
Rodrigues Ferreira, Paulo	Welch, Ellen
Pudosky, Christina	Professor
Shade, Alicia	Bjnotti, Lucia
Taylor, Kristine	Estrada, Oswaldo
Tolman, Elizabeth	lovino, Serenella
ng Associate Professor	Melehy, Hassan
Brown, Raúl	Perelmuter, Rosa
Brano, Liz	Postdoctoral Fellow
Garrasco, Cristina	
Castelloes, Frederico	Kunigami, Keiji
Chambless, Amy	Marquez Guajardo, Alejandra
De Fays, Hélène	Ritter, Angela
Gómez, Luís Marcelino	Serrato-Woods, Erika
Gravatt, Michelle	Viano, Catherine
Heitsch, Dorothea	Staff
Kim, Hosun	Brackett, Logan
Lee, Gosia	Carey, Shavon
Lindquist, Josefa	López-Chen, Nefi
Muñoz-Hermoso, Abel	Melton, Sheena
Ruiz-Garcia, Martha	Minchew, Heather
Sueldo, Martin	Brookie, Parker Cerulli, Massim, ligno
Vernon, Richard	Cerulli, Massimiliano
ng Professor	
Cowell, Glynis	
Fyrry, Nina	
Pruvost, Valérie	